Time for Remembering 2017

On Sunday 19 November 2017, we held our 17th annual Time for Remembering ceremony at Parliament House, which is the United Nation’s World Day of Remembrance for Road Traffic Victims. This day is dedicated to remembering the many millions killed and injured in road crashes, their families and friends and the many others whose lives are affected. It is also designed to give thanks to emergency services and all who work tirelessly to reduce road trauma.

This annual event is held to remember those who have died, those who continue to suffer, and the impact of road trauma on our community.

We are very grateful to RTSSV’s Art Therapy Group, members of which worked throughout the year to create ‘Life After the Fall’, an artwork that was exhibited at the ceremony. Life After the Fall is dedicated to our loved ones and to all people who have been killed or injured on our roads.

We warmly thank the Reverend Andy Calder for leading the ceremony, The Hon. Luke Donnellan for delivering a message from the state government, and Dr Christine Durham, for sharing her story

Thank you to all who contributed to this special event, including Samantha Cockfield, TAC; Chief Magistrate Peter Lauristen; Assistant Commissioner Doug Fryer, Victoria Police; Justin Flynn; Mark Cartledge; Lynne Irving; Ted Durham; Jeanette Suhr OAM; Michael Johnson; Christine Rawson; Bishop Peter Danaher, President, Victorian Council of Churches; Mary Bergin, Humanist Society of Victoria; Michael Johnson, Harpist; Murray Davies, Chair, Faith Communities Council of Victoria; Barbara Joyce and the Art Therapy Group and the members of the Organised Water Choir.

We are grateful to the TAC and Uniting Church Synod of Victoria and Tasmania for their ongoing support of Time for Remembering.

Thank you, A Little Light for donating the floating candles and The Graceful Bloom for the beautiful flowers.

DSC_0670  DSC_0719  DSC_0727